How do you define Happiness?

I always wonder whether a person happy or not and what made them feel happy.  How would they define their happiness? According to Webster dictionary the term Happiness translated to:

a :  a state of well-being and contentment

b :  a pleasurable or satisfying experience

Yet, happiness is not the same with others. There are times I encounter a person who are not happy even tough they have everything- money, career, fame, and family. I wonder what’s wrong with them. Clearly their life must be perfect yet they told me they are not happy. This easy question yet very difficult to answer dawns on me while I’m doing my final project for college. It struck me while I’m in deep stress knowing I wouldn’t make to my graduation on time while all my peers are finished with their thesis already. There are times I’m stuck in traffic while driving by myself I started to cry or just seeing my friends talk about how their thesis goes well would really pissed me off.

Hence, I try my best to feel happy or content. Through reading books and asking peoples these question “How Do You Define Happiness” I then find my closure. Below are answers I got from friends, teacher, or colleagues when asking the question:

Happiness is where the heart and the brain molds. Making fantasy and reality so close together it becomes one. Nothing else matter only the moment of the feeling itself – Pitoy. Indonesia

Happiness is knowing you’re still alive – Annisa Rianti. Indonesia

Happiness is doing what you love. Money can help you do what  you love so money is good. But, you usually have to work at something you don’t like to get money. Best idea is to make money by doing what you love. However, that’s not always an option. You have to weigh up your time spent working versus time doing what you love. From here you need to find a fair balance to find your happiness. – Dan Price. New Zealand

You can experience happiness when you already experience sadness – Edoardo Baldoni. Italy 

Happiness is like energy. Found only the positive energy and associate yourself with that energy. Stay away from negative energy – Jennisa Yunus. Indonesia

From here I conclude that happiness does not come on its own. It does not come from outside variables such as money, friends, career, fame, or praise. Yet, it’s a state of mind. You have to believe that happiness comes from within. It comes from inside you. Your heart that where it comes. From here you can feel the true form of happiness.

I would continuously update this article every time I meet someone new and share his or her view on Happiness. Also, if your thoughts on Happiness would like to be featured here you’re welcome to drop me a mail to: k.shabrina@gmail.com.

Below are thoughts from friends, fellow travel blogger, colleagues, and many more that contribute their ways of seeing Happiness. These responses would be divided by countries and would regularly updated by me.

Happiness list of countries:


Please use this format subject email:

Subject: [Happiness Quotes]

Body Email: Quotes – Your Name – Country.

Thank you!

Photo courtesy of Daniel Kharisganda

Leave a Reply

